Jorginho wins 2020/21 UEFA Player of the Year award

Chelsea’s Jorginho wins 2020/21 UEFA Player of the Year award.

He beat teammate N’golo Kante and Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne to win the prestigious award.

UEFA Men’s Player of the Year nominees

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City & Belgium)

Runner-up for this award 12 months ago, the Belgian picked up where he left off as he inspired City to the Premier League title and through to the Champions League final where a facial injury forced him off.

Jorginho (Chelsea & Italy)

Became only the tenth player to win a European Cup and a EURO in the same year, starting every EURO 2020 game for Italy having missed just one in the Blues’ run to Champions League glory.

N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea & France)

Finished the Champions League season like a train, with Player of the Match performances in both legs of Chelsea’s semi-final win against Real Madrid and then the final against City.

The rest of the top ten

4 Lionel Messi (Barcelona, now at Paris & Argentina) – 148 points

5 Robert Lewandowski (Bayern & Poland) – 140 points

6 Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan, now at Paris & Italy) – 49 points

7 Kylian Mbappé (Paris & France) – 31 points

8 Raheem Sterling (Man. City & England) – 18 points

9 Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus & Portugal) – 16 points

10 Erling Haaland (Dortmund & Norway) – 15 points

What is the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award?

For this award, players in Europe, irrespective of nationality, have been judged in regard to their performances over the whole season in all competitions – both domestically and internationally – at either club, or national team level.

How were the players shortlisted?

The shortlist of three players was selected by a jury comprising the following:

24 coaches of the teams which participated in this summer’s UEFA EURO 2020

80 coaches of the clubs that participated in the group stages of the 2020/21 UEFA Champions League (32) and UEFA Europa League (48)

55 journalists selected by the European Sports Media (ESM) group, one from each of UEFA’s member associations

Jury members chose their top three players, with the first receiving five points, the second three and the third one. Coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their own team.

Last year’s winner

Robert Lewandowski won the 2019/20 UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award. The Bayern striker scored in every game en route to the UEFA Champions League final in Lisbon, picking up 15 goals and six assists as well as the trophy he had coveted for so long. He also hit 34 goals in 31 Bundesliga matches and six in five German Cup games.

See also  3 big changes Mikel Arteta should make to beat Leeds United

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

GIPHY App Key not set. Please check settings

#UCLDraw: City meets PSG,Barca face Bayern,Chelsea vs Juve-See all groups

Cristiano Ronaldo ‘agrees personal terms with Manchester City’